.

Q&A on Georgia's New Car 'Title Tax'

Still have questions about the new car tax law going into effect March 1? Here is a list of answers to frequently asked questions and a link to help calculate how much you will pay for that new ride.

For anyone in Peachtree Corners contemplating buying a new or used car, you've probably still got some questions about the new "Title Tax" law that goes into effect March 1, 2013.

You'll find 22 answers to questions that range from "How much will the title tax be?" to "What is the fair value market and how is it determined?" on the Gwinnett County's Tax Commissioner's website.

Thanks to Sully who pointed out the link in the comment stream earler today on the Peachtree Corners Patch website.

Click here to see the Q&A on information on the new "Title Tax" that replaces the ad valorem tax that goes into effect on the first day of March for automobiles purchased on or after that date.

There is also a title tax calculator on the Georgia Department of Revenue's website. Click here to find out how much tax you can expect to pay if you purchase a new or used car after March 1.

Mrs D February 24, 2013 at 11:36 PM
I heard something about a lower percentage rate for purchase within immediate family. I purchased a car from my Dad within the time frame to opt in if I wish but haven't been able to find more info about opting in with the family rate. Does anyone have any more info?
Jim Nelems February 24, 2013 at 11:57 PM
If it is one of a few specific family members, and the fee has been paid, the fee is 1/2 of 1%. You do not have to prove the relationship, just sign an affidavit to that effect. Click on the link in the patch article for more information. Not all "relatives" qualify but a dad does
Mrs D February 25, 2013 at 12:06 AM
Thanks!
JMitchell May 14, 2013 at 01:20 PM
What Tom Rice is not considering are those who move to Georgia on government orders for 1 to 3 years and are not active duty. Such is the case with our family. My spouse is a 90% disabled vet who was transferred to Georgia on government orders for a 1 to 3 year assignment. We have two Jeeps bought in 2010 (base models) and one lease from 2012 (one young driver still living at home). We paid sales tax to the state of Washington. We were charged $5,200.00 to register our three vehicles. And if my husband gets new orders next year, which we probably will, we will leave the state of Georgia and have to register in the new state we move to. Therefore, our yearly tag fees were 1300.00 for each Jeep and 2,000.00 for the lease. Please hit me with the yearly birthday tax, that would have been so much better! There are many government employees that move around like we do that have to register as residents in each state we move to and this bill has hit us so hard. Most of us will only live in Georgia for a year so the ad valorem tax is pretty much a fee for 1 year.
JMitchell May 14, 2013 at 01:32 PM
Thank you Jim for your common sense replies. Not only did we get hit with these draconian fees, but the representative at the vehicle registration office said that any trade in values or down payments were not considered because we were new residents. We place a hefty downpayment and trade in for one of the Jeeps and none of that was taken into account so that is why the fee was $1,300.00 for each Jeep even though the financed amount is different. On a side note, I have to put groceries on a credit card today because I was forced to fork over $2,600.00 at the registration office and had to liquidate one checking account and overdraw the other. But, at least I was given a year to come up with the other $2,600.00 (insert sarcasm here).:)

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »